Wainwright Guides

The Wainwright Guides – A Third Edition of the Walks

February 21, 2014

It is now almost sixty years since in 1955 Alfred Wainwright published the first volume of his Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells. It took Wainwright more than a decade to complete the original seven volumes, the final one, on the Western Fells, being published in 1966. Subsequently in 1974 he added an eighth on […]

Read the full article →

Wainwright Walks at Both Ends of Life

August 5, 2013

The original “Wainwright walks” were, of course, described in the seven volumes of Pictorial Guides to the Lakeland Fells published between 1955 and 1966. Half a century later these volumes were revised and updated by Chris Jesty. These seven are not, however, the only Wainwright guide books. Many of the more mountainous Lake District walks […]

Read the full article →

A. Wainwright and the Wainwright Walks

July 25, 2013

It seemed appropriate for the first post on this blog to give a quick overview of the history of the books describing Wainwright’s walks in the Lake District. There are many other Wainwright books, but we’ll focus on the Lake District walks first. Early Years Alfred Wainwright, although nowadays best known for his “Wainwright Walks” […]

Read the full article →